European Capital of Innovation 2020: 12 cities make it into the final round


Twelve cities from nine countries are in the final stage of the contest to become the European Capital of Innovation 2020. Funded by Horizon 2020, EU’s research and innovation programme, the prize recognises the European cities that develop vibrant innovation ecosystems to address public challenges and improve the lives of the people.

The finalists of this year’s edition are (in alphabetical order):

  1. Cluj-Napoca (Romania)
  2. Espoo (Finland)
  3. Ghent (Belgium)
  4. Groningen (The Netherlands)
  5. Helsingborg (Sweden)
  6. Leeuwarden (The Netherlands)
  7. Leuven (Belgium)
  8. Linz (Austria)
  9. Milano (Italy)
  10. Reykjavik (Iceland)
  11. Valencia (Spain)
  12. Vienna (Austria)

A high-level jury of independent experts selected the 12 finalists by analysing how cities use innovative solutions to respond to societal challenges, how they use such practices in the urban development process and how they engage broad local communities in decision-making.

The winner city will receive the title of European Capital of Innovation 2020 as well as €1,000,000 to support its innovation activities and to enhance its capacity to connect individuals, public sector, academia, and businesses to deliver societal benefits for its communities. Five runners-up will get €100,000 each.

The Commission will announce the winner and the runners-up of the European Capital of Innovation 2020 contest at the European Research and Innovation Days taking place on 22-24 September 2020. At the same event, the Commission will award the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2020, the EIC Horizon Prize for Affordable High-Tech for Humanitarian Aid, and the Horizon Impact Award 2020.

Click here for more information.


Sign up for our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and get informed about the news, events and activities of Water Europe.