Water Europe Innovation Awards Winner of the day – Water Governance award


During the Water Innovation Europe 2020 second panel session dedicated to ‘A Water-Smart Industry for a Green deal’ Benjamin Hermans and Rhys Hellin from the European Junior Water Programme (EJWP) presented the winner of the Water Governance award for the most successful governance solution for the water sector.

De Monfort University (DMU) is the proud winner of the Water Governance Award. Through its user-driven project Political and Social Awareness on Water Environmental Challenges (POWER), DMU demonstrated that the use of smart technologies supported by innovative engagement models plays an important role in addressing priority areas that will have a significant impact on the future of water in our society. In the long-term, the POWER approach aims to build capacity in cities to develop solutions, strategies and policies for addressing water-related sustainability challenges that can ensure policy continuity, thus creating an important tool for EU water policy.


Ljiljana Marjanovic-Halburd, Professor of DMU received the award, thanking the audience and delivering a short speech on the winning project. De Monfort University (DMU) is known for its research and teaching excellence, particularly in the area of energy and sustainable development. It has a long established track record in the successful delivery of multi-stakeholder research and commercial projects. To learn more about it, please click here.

Stay tuned for the announcement of our tomorrow’s Awards winner.


Sign up for our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and get informed about the news, events and activities of Water Europe.